Skip to content

…and it’s funny how sleep just sort of comes on its own…

April 21, 2009 6:28 pm

…For the first twenty years of my life, I rocked myself to sleep.

It was a harmless enough hobby, but eventually, I had to give it up.

Throughout the next twenty-two years I lay still and discovered that

after a few minutes I could drop off with no problem.

Follow seven beers with a couple of scotches and a thimble of good marijuana,

and it’s funny how sleep just sort of comes on its own.

Often I never even made it to the bed.

I’d squat down to pet the cat and wake up on the floor eight hours later,

having lost a perfectly good excuse to change my clothes.

I’m now told that this is not called “going to sleep”

but rather “passing out,” a phrase that carries a distinct hint of judgment…

—  David Sedaris (Me Talk Pretty One Day)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

