Skip to content

Short Thoughts. Subject- people…

March 27, 2009 4:04 pm

Very, very well said…

People are often resistant to admit to it…but if you look inside yourself…and think…you will see… hope it will do you good!

Never feel sorry for people. Respect their good decisions, and disrespect their bad ones. In the end, they will always choose what makes them happiest. Never feel sorry for people, because people are just as selfish as you are, just as self-interested as you are, and have just as strong a sense of self-preservation as you do. It’s just that we all perceive self-preservation in different ways… – Decius [CaptainCynic.com]

 ****

When someone asks me to be sincere all I do is promise to tell the truth and lie as best I can. People don’t want to hear the truth they want to hear lies. I surrender to their will because if I tell the truth they will despise me but if I lie our bond will double…

This one I could not agree more with. People ask for the truth but when you give it to them, they act as if they wanted a lie…When you give them a lie – they say you are playing them and walk away… So, tell me – where is the happy medium? Does it exist?…

****

Once is a coincidence, twice denotes a pattern…

Someone recently commented on an annoying (to me) detail. And it only happened twice that I’ve experienced the annoyance in that person’s presence.  He said it was a pattern… But the phrase got stuck in my head, and has been surfacing again and again… until it finally caused me to sit down and think through the definition of a pattern… And what makes a negative or a positive pattern… No, you don’t want me to start talking about that now.. Maybe later…But not now… 

****

Because who you are being isn’t who you are, it is the person you are being that is keeping you from being yourself..

This one is a mind-twister… Just think about it…Isn’t it why you are here? To find things to ponder? Go for it!!! 😉

****

Paranoids are not paranoid because they’re paranoid, but because they keep putting themselves, fucking idiots, deliberately into paranoid situations.

I won’t even go into commenting on this one… It’s about a friend of mine and … going to have to leave it at that… But he is okay now…at the moment I write this anyway 😉 .

 ****

The best definition of man is: a being that goes on two legs and is ungrateful.” – Fyodor Dostoevsky

Priceless…

****

 But yet I am firmly persuaded that a great deal of consciousness, every sort of consciousness, in fact, is a disease. – Fyodor Dostoevsky  

****

Jargon allows us to camouflage intellectual poverty with verbal extravagance. – David Pratt

Language, beautiful language… Keep it, make it better, perfect it… Don’t lose it. It’s a shame watching something that has so much power of expression to be neglected with such passion!!!

****

Curiosity killed the cat, but for a while I was a suspect. – Steven Wright  

It’s about cats… Hahaha… Go figure that one out – no comment 🙂

****

We shall require a substantially new manner of thinking if mankind is to survive – Albert Einstein

A perfect thought. I would only add – in our society we need to make sure we continue to think… yes, folks, sometimes it’s really THAT bad out there…

****

With or without religion, you would have good people doing good things and evil people doing evil things. But for good people to do evil things, that takes religion. – Steven Weinberg

Religion… By the way… Since the subject came up… Yes, I am not religious. That’s just it.  This comes as a shock to most people I say this to..

Yes, I do believe in science. And it has given me all the facts that I need to believe in it… I am yet to hear any logical or even believable confirmation on existence of God. Nor have I been presented any FACTS that God exists…  People say – you do not need facts, God is there and that’s final – you don’t question God… But don’t you think this sort of statement about anything just doesn’t quite cut it??? If I told you I believed in fairies, and that they were real because Disney wrote a book about them – would that be sufficient for you to blindly believe in their existence? Okay, I know I cut too many corners with this statement…But in essence isn’t this what it comes down to?

I can talk for hours on subjects of spirituality and religion… And argue my point … and you can argue yours… In the end where will this lead us – probably to part, firmly convinced that each of our points of view is the right one…but we will probably never speak again either… Which is absolutely nt what I am trying to achieve here…

But I always enjoy speaking to people who have an open mind. Those who are willing to consider what their opponent is saying without any prejudice…Even if whatever they are hearing goes entirely against their principles and beliefs. Discussing things in such a manner and with such an attitude – it takes a strong person. And these are the people I truly enjoy talking to. And so wish more people would at least consider to have an open mind, even if it’s just for the time of the discussion – that would already be something…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

