Skip to content

Creative cruelty… very, VERY upsetting post!!

November 14, 2008 6:12 pm

I know people tend to harm the living things they are afraid of – kill the spider, squish the ant, poison the mice, spray the wasps and the list goes on…

But when you have wild animals taking residence at your residence…What do you do?

This guy in a story below is killing the entire bee colony for taking up residence under the cover of his grill!!! He even took the time to document the entire event in colorful photographs!….

My question is simple: is it really that hard to contact the city and/or arrange for people to come in and move the entire colony elsewhere? I don’t know much about beeking but I have heard of similar cases and I know for a fact that it’s possible to arrange for people to come to your house and remove bee colony and transport it someplace else.

I have no words to describe what I felt while looking at the pictures. I’ll leave it at that…

Below is the story I was sent…

Subject: FW: [BigDaddyandDaBombsBungalow] This is incredible!

OMG!!!!


So I’m using my bbq this weekend… So I thought ill clean it up..

I have know there are bee’s coming from under the cover so I thought I’d kill them, obviously…

So heres the bbq in question

1

Now I know these bombs aren’t for bee’s and that but I thought I’ll suffocate/smoke them out. So here is the weapon of choice and delivery system.

2

3

I thought I was pretty smart hehehe designed to be easierly manovered under the cover of darkness…

So then I release the weapon of buzz destruction..
OMG! The sound from under the cover was incredible!!! You could hear it 3m away easy…
Coming back few mins later to see the death toll…

Then I ran like the clappers….

45Was at least 20mm deep mass grave

6I continued to remove the cover and to light the bbq to give it a clean when I noticed some fattly looking substance on the top of th side shelf thing….

Bit weird.. I clean it before I put it away for winter and no way was there fat there so I begun to wonder……

NO….. It can’t be could it?

I slowly removed the rest of the cover only to find the HQ..

78910111213AND ON ANOTHER NOTE

We think the queen flew away…. Either that or a small child has wings and has been living in the hive coz that thing was huge!

***************************

Elena’s notes: once again – no comment….

Update: Got a request for some links to original post. I actually got this by email – so I copied the photos and text exactly how it appeared in the email.

But when I did the search, here is what I found:

http://d.imagehost.org/view/0017/2916b1b412ea44fc43c635ed5b492259.jpg

A nice discussion with some links:

http://www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=1&f=5&t=788072&page=1

5 Comments leave one →
  1. D Tessier permalink
    November 15, 2008 10:31 am 10:31 am

    Can you send me the original link to this?

    Thank you for posting it.

    This person not only destroyed a colony of bees at a time when they are disappearing, and wasted their wax and honey, now he’s going to cook on a poisoned grill?

    These are among the most clean, beautiful combs I’ve ever seen. What I would have given to have this colony at my home.

  2. November 15, 2008 8:12 pm 8:12 pm

    Those were my thoughts exactly – any local beekeeper would have been more than happy to have this colony! And I’m sure they would probably come rather quickly and most likely remove the bees for free…

    I can tolerate many things and try to always keep an open mind but ignorance is something I never understood!

    I will post some links in a moment.

    Thanks for your comment!
    E.

  3. William Pugh permalink
    March 27, 2009 1:27 pm 1:27 pm

    I would have been happy to use a devise to get the bees off his/her cooker.
    People DO NOT understand animals at all and this is sad.
    For a farmer and keeper like me it turns my guts.
    So, could this be seen as a mass killing per WW2 Nazi Era?
    Think people!
    Thank you,
    William Pugh
    Wild Hare
    Wild Hare Farms

  4. John permalink
    May 17, 2009 10:57 am 10:57 am

    To think,
    I cuoulda got those and they would be producing 100 to 300 lbs of honey a year now.

    What a waste.

    • July 15, 2009 5:55 pm 5:55 pm

      Thank you for your comment! This incident is shocking to me still, even though I wrote that post a while ago… And the funny thing – this very post gets the most hits to my blog – as it continues to circle the web …
      I’m going to add a few more links and some information on what to do in a situation similar to this one or what to do when people come face-to-face with wildlife, insects and etc… I have some resources about that – don’t know why I haven’t posted any of that yet… But definitely going to post it – hopefully it will help prevent incidents like this one.

Leave a Reply

